Thank you for a wonderful day. I am exhausted and deeply moved.

I got home and had a good cry, not for sorrow, but joy. The awareness of life’s many overlapping relationships and connections were present in me today. Its Milan  Kundera’s Unbearable Lightness of Being–the moments of grace when we are quietly and firmly held in each others’ arms.

Alec, you missed a few wonderful moments: Lily said “I have never known life without autism.”

We staged moments of “the apple does not fall far from the tree” from the Solomon title. There was a scene with three guys rubbing their heads in various places, having been hurt by a falling apple, and feeling bewildered “I didn’t think it was going to happen” “Its never happened like that before” “How is it like this?”

I raise my drama therapy goblet of seltzer to you all and toast your beauty, wonder, wisdom, willingness and playfulness. We are off to an amazing start.

Here is the link to the Amanda Baggs video that I am hoping folks can watch. She is brilliant and makes clear and concise arguments for disability theory (the idea of multiple perspectives).

//ahref=

Remember that we will all write a monologue as the person we are companioning on this adventure! See you February 1 at 10am!

With humble appreciation,

Maria

