Tags

, , ,

In a letter to Maria Hodermarska, recent NYU Drama Therapy graduate, Cameron Wade, shares her audience experience after seeing Rule Breaking on opening night.

11/13/15

Dearest Maria,

It will be hard for me to adequately capture the feelings I have now and had last night witnessing the beautiful work that was Rule Breaking. Still, I have a desire to communicate these feelings to you and my hope is that you might communicate them to your colleagues, your son, your castmates.

The first feeling is gratitude. I feel so grateful for the opportunity, the privilege, the honor of witnessing this deep, soul-bearing work.

The second feeling, I think, is connectedness. I feel connected to the perfect imperfect truth telling (as close as we can come to it?) and utter humanness of the stories that were told so simply and artfully.

Finally, I feel full of love. In the theatre last night, my favorite place to be, I felt so very much in love with the experience. The newness, the rawness, exposed, held up, ephemeral, ugly, beautiful, truly awesome, comforting, anxious, awkward, healing – love.

In this time of transition in my life, when I feel so fearful and overwhelmed in the world and the uncertainty of everything, I found by watching this play, renewal of my spirit, bolstering of my courage, presence, breath, grace and the gentle urge to press onward through the shit – right from my seat in the audience. Restorative. Therapeutic.

For these things, for this experience, I am so very grateful. Thank you for a truly wonderful night in the theatre.

May you, your director, your crew and the rest of your cast enjoy an AMAZING run.

With all my heart,
Cam

